WWW.PROTu-154.org
Project Tupolev Team Forum Index Log in Register FAQ Memberlist Search

Project Tupolev Team Forum Index » Hangar Talk » Does anyone have an idea what might be causing this?
Post new topic  Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic 
Does anyone have an idea what might be causing this?
PostPosted: Wed Oct 26, 2011 18:26 Reply with quote
Adonis
Правак
Joined: 05 May 2011
Posts: 142
Location: Novi Sad, Serbia




Lately, when I get into the Kneeboard and select a html based page on it (like the pressure converter we have for the Tupolevs) I get an activex control error and if I click to load anyway, the pressure calculator doesn't work any more. Any ideas what exactly IE is missing here? I did some cleanups with the IE plugins and this problem started after that.

_________________
Easy is the path to wisdom for those not blinded by themselves.
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website

Never touch a running system!
PostPosted: Sat Oct 29, 2011 13:55 Reply with quote
WalterLeo
КВС
Joined: 10 Feb 2009
Posts: 1660
Location: Viena Austria




Hi Adonis:

From outside one can only suggest:

Restore your system to the state before you changed the plugins.

Try to run FS and the kneeboard, if everthing is fine:

Think why you changed the plugins:

If it was seeking better framerates:

Download PC Alacrity (before named FS AUTOSTART both are free) and run that programe before using FS every time.

Cause nearly all programes on a computer constantly are spying your system, searching for updates, downloading something: all without ones knowledge and in the background. There are programes like PC ALACRITY which switch off these frameratekillers. They are big helpers also if Skype Video-Calls are running poorly on your system.

Good advice you find also on the HJG forum:

http://tonymadgehjg.proboards.com/index.cgi?board=placestoaskforhelp&action=display&thread=2201


Good luck

Walter

_________________
You think I am a bad pilot, you should watch me playing golf!
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website

PostPosted: Sat Oct 29, 2011 19:44 Reply with quote
Adonis
Правак
Joined: 05 May 2011
Posts: 142
Location: Novi Sad, Serbia




Hm...that wasn't any help I'm afraid...

I have system restore turned off by default, because it's a big frame rate killer on it's own right.

Walther, could you please list here your IE Active X controls that you have installed and running (take a peek into IE's add-on list)? I would like most to substitute IE with say Chrome to show html's within FS, but I haven't found a way to do it.

This happened because a newer version of skype (from around march or may) was having a nervous breakdown on start and would bluescreen my PC... I have deleted some of the dll's that it wasn't comfortable with and one of them was an IE ActiveX control, but I can't remember which...I installed an older version after I couldn't fix it to work.

_________________
Easy is the path to wisdom for those not blinded by themselves.
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website

Safety Net
PostPosted: Sun Oct 30, 2011 21:20 Reply with quote
WalterLeo
КВС
Joined: 10 Feb 2009
Posts: 1660
Location: Viena Austria




Hi Adonis:

As you have changed important settings without a safety net, one can only try a makeshift solution.

I can not tell you my settings, cause I have Firefox as default browser.. But try first if other planes with HTML checklists (like DM flightsims Comet) show you their kneeboard content. If they do, its not the settings of plugins. Check if your system has your browser as default.
And if all this doesnt help: Load down FIREFOX put it as default browser and lets see if that has helped.

Good luck

Walter

P.S.: By bad luck there are so much rumors and gossip on the net about framerates, that some advice is not the best one.

_________________
You think I am a bad pilot, you should watch me playing golf!
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website

PostPosted: Mon Oct 31, 2011 00:20 Reply with quote
Adonis
Правак
Joined: 05 May 2011
Posts: 142
Location: Novi Sad, Serbia




I have brought it down to IE active X plugins Walter a long time ago, you having Firefox (I have Chrome myself) as default doesn't change the use of IE for the Kneeboard mate. Understand that I'm not new with PC's, I have a high school degree for them Хитрый

_________________
Easy is the path to wisdom for those not blinded by themselves.
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website

IE and kneeboard
PostPosted: Tue Nov 01, 2011 17:56 Reply with quote
WalterLeo
КВС
Joined: 10 Feb 2009
Posts: 1660
Location: Viena Austria




Did you check if other kneeboard HTML based checklists still work?
e.g. DM-flightsims Comet.

Did you try to load down the new version of IE (8 for XP and Vista 9 for Windows7). Maybe that helps Вопрос

Walter

_________________
You think I am a bad pilot, you should watch me playing golf!
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website

Does anyone have an idea what might be causing this?
 Project Tupolev Team Forum Index » Hangar Talk
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You can attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum
All times are GMT + 3 Hours  
Page 1 of 1  

  
  
 Post new topic  Reply to topic  


  Powered by phpBB © 2001-2005 phpBB Group. Designed for protu-154.org | Webmaster - ^COOLER^